

PHILIPPINE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION Theme: "PMA: Working Together as One"

Member World Medical Association Co-Founder Confederation of Medical Associations in Asia and Oceania (CMAAO) Medical Association of South East Asian Nations (MASEAN) Secretariat Philippine Medical Association Building, North Avenue, Quezon City 1105 Telephone Numbers: (02) 8929-7361; 8929-6366; 8926-2447 • Fax: (02) 8989-6951 Mobile Numbers: 0917-8221357; 0918-9234732 (Secretariat) 0927-5806903; 0961-5823069 (Membership) Emails: info@philippinemedicalassociation.org; philmedas@yahoo.com; philmedas@gmail.com Website: www.philippinemedicalassociation.org

PMA STATEMENT ON THE MATTER OF REDUCING PHYSICAL DISTANCING IN PUBLIC CONVENYANCES

The Philippine Medical Association (PMA) has been approached by various sectors, groups and organizations on the matter of the reduction of physical distancing between individuals in the mass transport sector particularly in public conveyances, reducing physical distancing from 1.0 meter to 0.50 and 0.75 meters respectively.

The PMA, after consultation with our Component Societies, Specialty Divisions, Sepcialty Societies as well as the PMA Executive Committee and the members of the Board of Governors, and other concerned individuals and groups, believes that the current physical distancing of 1.0 meter as prescribed by the World Health Organization (WHO) and currently being implemented by the Inter Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) be maintained and strictly implemented as this has been proven to be one of the most effective methods in preventing further spread of COVID-19, in addition to wearing of face masks and face shields in public places. Should scientific evidences however prove otherwise, the PMA is willing to review and reconsider its current stand.

The PMA is issuing this statement to clarify its position on the above matter.

RFNI

PMA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

CHRISTINE S. TINIO, MD Vice President

HECTOR M. SANTÓS JR., MD Secretary General

TIEŇŻA. MD President

ノ((〜 〜 〜 FE E. ŤAĞAYUNA, MD National Treasurer

MARIA CHRISTINA H. VENTURA, MD Assistant Secretary General

NATIONAL OFFICERS 2020-2021

BENITO P. ATIENZA, MD President

CHRISTINE S. TINIO, MD Vice President

DURES FE E. TAGAYUNA, MD National Treasurer

HECTOR M. SANTOS JR., MD Secretary General

MARIA CHRISTINA H. VENTURA, MD Assistant Secretary General

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

ROSALINA M. BALOT, MD Northeastern Luzon

JOSE MANUEL VICENTE C. BELLO JR., MD Northwestern Luzon

AUGUSTO F. ABELEDA JR., MD **Central Luzon**

ALEJANDRO Y. TAN, MD Manila

MA. MERCEDES V. AGUSTIN, MD Quezon City

ELISA O. TIU, MD Rizal

JOSE ARNEL G. MANALILI, MD Central Tagalog

ROSALINA S. CARAAN, MD Southern Tagalog

RICARDO D. ISIP JR., MD Bicol

JAPHET G. FERNANDEZ-DE LEON, MD Western Visayas

KAZAN BENIGNO S. BALUYOT, MD Central Visayas

GLENDA G. OSERRAOS, MD Eastern Visayas

JOHN HERNANI V. ANACAN JR., MD Western Mindanao

LESTER LLOYD C. LEOCADIO, MD Northern Mindanao

LUZ P. ACOSTA-BARRIENTOS, MD Southeastern Mindanao

Northcentral Mindanao

MANOLITO C. GO, MD Caraga

PMA BOARD OF GOVERNORS

ROŚALINA M. BALOT, MD PMA Governor, Northeastern Luzon

. Julide Mr. AUGUSTO F. ABELEDA JR., MD

PMA Governor, Central Luzon

MA. MERCEDES V. AGUSTIN, MD PMA Governor, Quezon City

Ċ

JOSE ARNEL G. MANALILI, MD PMA Governor, Central Tagalog

RICARDO D. ISIP JR., MD PMA/Governor, Bicol

KAZAN BENIGNO S. BALUYOT, MD PMA Governor, Central Visayas

2

JOHN HERNANI V. ANACAN JR., MD PMA Governor, Western Mindanao

LUZ P. ACOSTA-BARRIENTOS, MD PMA Governor, Southeastern Mindanao

JOSE MANUEL VICENTE C. BELLO JR., MD PMA Governor, Northwestern Luzon

ALEJANDRO Y. TAN, MD PMA Governor, Manila

ELISA O. TIU, MD

ELISA O. TIU, MD PMA Governor, Rizal

Scarant RÓSALINA S. CARAAN, MD PMA Governor, Southern Tagalog

nerth

JAPH G. FERNANDEZ-DE LEON, MD PMA/Governor, Western Visayas

¢LENDA G. OSERRAOS, MD PMA Governor, Eastern Visayas

LESTER LLYOD C. LEOCADIO, MD

PMA Governor, Northern Mindanao

MANOLITO C. GO, MD PMA Governor, Caraga

PMA SPECIALTY DIVISIONS

BENJAMIN DANIEL S. VALERA, MD President, Philippine Society of Anesthesiologists

JOSE ANTONIO M. SALUD, MD President, Philippine College of Surgeons

CHRISTIA S. PADOLINA, MD

President Philippine Obstetrical and Gynecological Society

MARIO M. PANALIGAN, MD

President, Philippine College of Physicians

Mounos

MARIA VICTORIA CONCEPCION P. CRUZ, MD President, Philippine Academy of Family Physicians

JOSELYN A. EUSEBIO, MD

President, Philippine Pediatric Society

ROBERTOD. PADUA JR., MD President, Philippine Society of. Pathologists, Inc

EVA C. DE LEON, MD

President, Philippine College of Radiology