

PHILIPPINE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

THEME: "PMA: WORKING TOGETHER AS ONE"

Member : World Medical Association

Co-Founder : Confederation of Medical Associations in Asia and Oceania (CMAAO)

Medical Association of South East Asian Nations (MASEAN)

Secretariat : Philippine Medical Association Building, North Avenue, Quezon City 1105

Telephone Numbers: (02) 8929-7361; 8929-6366; 8926-2447 ● Fax: (02) 8989-6951

Mobile Numbers: 0917-8221357; 0918-9234732 (Secretariat) 0927-5806903; 0961-5823069 (Membership)

Emails: philmedas@yahoo.com; philmedas@gmail.com • Website: www.philippinemedicalassociation.org

NATIONAL OFFICERS 2020-2021

BENITO P. ATIENZA, MD

President

CHRISTINE S. TINIO, MD

Vice President

DURES FE E. TAGAYUNA, MD

National Treasurer

HECTOR M. SANTOS JR., MD

Secretary General

MARIA CHRISTINA H. VENTURA, MD

Assistant Secretary General

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

ROSA LINA M. BALOT, MD

Northeastern Luzon

JOSE MANUEL VICENTE C. BELLO JR., MD

Northwestern Luzon

AUGUSTO F. ABELEDA JR., MD

Central Luzon

ALEJANDRO Y. TAN. MD

Manila

MA. MERCEDES V. AGUSTIN, MD

Quezon City

ELISA O. TIU, MD

Rizal

JOSE ARNEL G. MANALILI, MD

Central Tagalog

ROSALINA S. CARAAN. MD

Southern Tagalog

RICARDO D. ISIP JR., MD

Bicol

JAPHET G. FERNANDEZ DE LEON, MD

Western Visayas

KAZAN BENIGNO S. BALUYOT, MD

Central Visayas

GLENDA G. OSERRAOS, MD

Eastern Visayas

JOHN HERNANI V. ANACAN JR., MD

Western Mindanao

LESTER LLOYD C. LEOCADIO. MD

Northern Mindanao

LUZ P. ACOSTA-BARRIENTOS, MD

Southeastern Mindanao

JACQUELINE L. ASENTISTA, MD

Northcentral Mindanao

MANOLITO C. GO, MD

Caraga

MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR NO: 2021-03-27-054

PHILIPPINE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION ADVISORY #1 Series of 2021

TO : ALL MEMBERS, COMPONENT SOCIETIES, SPECIALTY

DIVISIONS, SUBSPECIALTY AND AFFILIATE SOCIETIES

SUBJECT: REMINDER ON PRESCRIBING MEDICINES

DATE : MARCH 27, 2021

This is to remind all members, component societies, specialty societies, subspecialty societies and affiliate societies that physicians shall only prescribe medicines duly approved by the Food and Drug Administration.

Physicians who prescribe medicines not registered with the Food and Drug Administration may be subjected to criminal prosecution for violating the laws of the land such as Republic Act No. 7394 (Consumer Act of the Philippines) and Republic Act 3720, as amended by Executive Order No. 175 and further amended by Republic Act No. 9711 (FDA Act).

Moreover, the Code of Ethics of the Philippine Medical Association and adopted by the Professional Regulation Commission provides that physicians shall practice medicine using the "Current Standards of Care". Prescribing unregistered medicines to patients will constitute an unethical act.

Please be guided accordingly.

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

BENITO P. ATIENZA, MI

President

CHR(STINE S. TINIO, MD

Vice President

DURES FE E. TAGAYUNA, MD

National Treasurer

HECTOR M. SANTOS JR., MD, MMHA

Secretary General

MARIA CHRISTINA H. VENTURA, MD

Asst. Secretary General

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

ROSA LINA M. BALOT, MD Northeastern Luzon

JOSE MANUEL VICENTE C. BELLO JR., MD Northwestern Luzon

Of f. Sulede fr.

AUGUSTO F. ABELEDA JR., MD

Central Luzon

ALEJANDRO Y. TAN, MD Manila

MA. MERCEDES V. AGUSTIN, MD Quezon City Elisa O. Juin ELISA O. TIU, MD Rizal

JOSE ARNEL 6. MANALILI, MD Central Tagalog ROSALINA S. CARAAN, MD Southern Tagalog

RICARDO D. ISIP JR., MD

JAPHET FERNANDEZ DE LEON, MD Western Visayas

KAZAN BENIGNO S. BALUYOT, MD Central Visayas GLENDA G. OSERRAOS, MD Eastern Visayas

JOHN HERNANI W. ANACAN JR., MD Western Mindanao

LESTER LLOYD C. LEOCADIO, MD Northern Mindanao

LUZ P. ACOSTA-BARRIENTOS, MD

JACQUELINE L. ASENTISTA, MD Northcentral Mindanao

Southeastern Mindanao

W(L) 9 MANOLITO C. GO, MD

Caraga

SPECIALTY DIVISIONS

EØGARD M. SIMON, MD

Philippine Society of Anesthesiologists

President

Philippine College of Physicians

ANTONIO S. SAY, MD

President

Philippine College of Surgeons

MARIA VICTORIA CONCEPCION P.

CRUZ, MD

President

Philippine Academy of Family Physicians

BENJAMIN D. CUENCA, MD

Philippine Obstetrical and Gynecological Society

President

Philippine Pediatric Society

D. PADUA JR., MD ROBERTO

President)

Philippine Society of Pathologists Inc.

LACANILAO, MD

President

Philippine College of Radiology