

PHILIPPINE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

THEME: "BUILD, BUILD, BUILD PMA!"

Member Co-Founder	:	World Medical Association (WMA) Confederation of Medical Association in Asia and Oceania (CMAAO) Medical Association of Southeast Asian Nations (MASEAN)
Secretariat	:	Philippine Medical Association Building, North Avenue, Quezon City 1105 Telephone Numbers: (632) 929-7361; 929-6366; 926-2447 Fax: (632) 929-6951 Mobile Numbers: 0927-5806903; 0947-2994782 (Membership) 0917-8221357; 0918-9234732 (Secretariat) Email: <u>philmedas@yahoo.com</u> ; <u>philmedas@gmail.com</u> ; <u>info@philippinemedicalassociation.org</u> Website: www.philippinemdecalassociation.org
	and a second second	

MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR NO: 2018-10-18-035

то	: COMPONENT OFFICERS, SPECIALTY DIVISIO SPECIALTY AND AFFILIATE SOCIETIES	INS
сс	PMA NATIONAL OFFICERS, BOARD OF GOV	ERNORS
SUBJECT	: PROFESSIONAL TAXES AND MAYOR'S PERM FEES RELATIVE TO THE PRACTICE OF THE M PROFESSION	
DATE	: OCTOBER 18, 2018	

Warmest Greetings!

This is in connection with the assessment of Mayor's/Business Permit fees imposed or being required from physicians for the practice of the medical profession.

Please be informed that professionals, such as doctors, are exempted from the payment of the Mayor's Permit Fees for the practice of the medical profession for a medical clinic as the same is a mere extension of a practice of medicine provided that concerned medical professionals pay the corresponding professional tax to the province or city where he practices his profession. However, the local government may require the Mayor's Permit or business permit for clinics which have established shops for the purpose of generating income and are engaged in the sale of products (i.e. medicines, in the case of a medical clinic; glasses, in the case of optometric, etc.)

For your ready reference please find attached the Memo Circular No. 2016-170 dated November 28, 2016 issued by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG).

Sincerely yours,

SENJAMIN M. ALABAN, MD Secretary General

Noted:

JOSE P. SANTIAGO, JR., MD President

in

/cvs

NATIONAL OFFICERS 2018-2019

JOSE P. SANTIAGO JR., MD President

BENITO P. ATIENZA, MD Vice President

CHRISTINE S. TINIO, MD National Treasurer

BENJAMIN M. ALABAN, MD Secretary General

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

MARTIN HEGINIO C. QUERUBIN, MD Northeastern Luzon

FELIPE GOZAR L. DUQUE, MD Northwestern Luzon

WILFREDO F. BATOL, MD Central Luzon

ALEJANDRO Y. TAN, MD Manila

NORMA M. TORREGOZA, MD Quezon City

CORAZON E. LEYVA, MD Rizal

JOSE FLORENCIO F. LAPEÑA JR., MD Central Tagalog

NILO M. ALCOREZA, MD Southern Tagalog

MA. HUMILDE B. JANABAN, MD Bicol

ERLINDA G. DE LOS REYES, MD Western Visayas

MARLON T. CO, MD Central Visayas

REALINO G. MOLINA, MD Eastern Visayas

APRIL R. LOPEZ, MD Western Mindanao

DURES FE E. TAGAYUNA, MD Northern Mindanao

DANTE T. EUGENIO, MD Southeastern Mindanao

GRACE MARILOU L. VEGA, MD Northcentral Mindanao

ADAH JUNE C. ROBLES, MD Caraga