

## **Philippine Medical Association**

PMA: CHANGING MINDSET IN CHARTING THE FUTURE			
	Member Co-Founder	<ul> <li>World Medical Association (WMA)</li> <li>Confederation of Medical Association in Asia and Oceania (CMAAO)</li> <li>Medical Association of Southeast Asian Nations (MASEAN)</li> </ul>	
	Secretariat	<ul> <li>PMA Bldg., North Avenue, Quezon City 1105</li> <li>Telephone Nos.: (632) 929-7361; 929-6366; 926-2447 Fax: (632) 929-6951</li> <li>Mobile: (Membership Hotline) 0917-8221357</li> <li>Emails: <u>info@philippinemedicalassociation.org</u>; <u>philmedas@yahoo.com</u></li> <li>Website: www.philippinemedicalassociation.org</li> </ul>	
		MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR NO: 2018-01-22-037	
	то	: COMPONENT OFFICERS, SPECIALTY DIVISIONS SPECIALTY AND AFFILIATE SOCIETIES	
	сс	: PMA NATIONAL OFFICERS, BOARD OF GOVERNORS	
	SUBJECT	: PROFESSIONAL TAXES AND MAYOR'S PERMIT FEES RELATIVE TO THE PRACTICE OF THE MEDICAL PROFESSION	

DATE **JANUARY 22, 2018** 

Warmest Greetings:

This is in connection with the assessment of Mayor's/Business Permit fees imposed or being required from physicians for the practice of the medical profession.

Please be informed that professionals, such as doctors, are exempted from the payment of the Mayor's Permit Fees for the practice of the medical profession for a medical clinic as the same is a mere extension of a practice of medicine provided that concerned medical professionals pay the corresponding professional tax to the province or city where he practices his profession. However, the local government may require the Mayor's Permit or business permit for clinics which have established shops for the purpose of generating income and are engaged in the sale of products (i.e. medicines, in the case of a medical clinic; glasses, in the case of an optometric, etc.

For your ready reference, please find attached the Memo Circular No. 2016-170 dated November 28, 2016 issued by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG).

Sincerely yours,

BPArin **BENITO P. ATIENZA, MD** Secretary General

Noted:

IRINEO C. BERNARDO III, MD President

/cvs

## NATIONAL OFFICERS 2017-2018

IRINEO C. BERNARDO III, M.D. President

JOSE P. SANTIAGO JR. M.D. Vice President

CHRISTINE S. TINIO, M.D. National Treasurer

BENITO P. ATIENZA, M.D. Secretary General

IAN N. FRANCISCO, M.D. Assistant Secretary General

## **BOARD OF GOVERNORS**

ALBERTO A. CAMUNGAO, JR, M.D. Northeastern Luzon

JOSELITO B. BRINGAS, M.D. Northwestern Luzon

MANUEL G. QUIAMBAO, M.D. Central Luzon

ALBERTO J. DE LEON, M.D. Manila

ANGELA V. CRUZ, M.D. Quezon City

SYLVIA R. CALINGO, M.D. Rizal

ROGELIO V. DAZO JR., M.D. Central Tagalog

GLICERIO CECILIO G. ALINCASTRE, M.D. Southern Tagalog

OBELIA R. ZAPANTA, M.D. Bicol

EARL G. AUTAJAY JR., M.D. Western Visayas

MARLON T. CO, M.D. **Central Visayas** 

REALINO G. MOLINA, M.D. Eastern Visayas

APRIL R. LOPEZ, M.D. Western Mindanao

DURES FE E. TAGAYUNA, M.D. Northern Mindanao

GRACE MARILOU L. VEGA, M.D. Northcentral Mindanao

ANTHONY LAURENCE P. ESCOVIDAL, M.D. Southeastern Mindanao

ADAH JUNE C. ROBLES, M.D. Caraga