

Dear Colleagues,

Following the path of a great hero and a national treasure entails an array of zealous desire. Dr. Jose P. Rizal once said that "It is a useless life that is not

consecrated to a great ideal. It is like a stone wasted on the field without becoming a part of any edifice".

Does anybody recognize a colleague who embodies the ideals, beliefs and characteristic of Pepe? Someone who toils with boundless optimism, driven to make a difference in anyone's life? Someone who's core being is undeniably fathomed as distinguished and reflective of Rizal's?

It is with greatest pleasure that the Philippine Medical Association in partnership with UNILAB, embarks on the Southern Tagalog Association of Medical Practitioners initiated 28th Dr. Jose P. Rizal Memorial Awards. This year's nationwide search for the 2019 Filipino Physicians of Distinction in the categories of Academe, Clinical Practice, Community Leadership, Government and Research is now open for nominations until December 30, 2018.

I am extending this invitation to 48,484 bonafide PMA members in good standing from 119 Component Societies, 8 Specialty Divisions, 97 Subspecialty Societies and 37 Affiliate Societies. Attached herewith are the mechanics and references for the nominations.

I am enthusiastic and anticipatory for this year's reverent nominations and See you in May 2019 for the Awarding Ceremonies during the PMA National Convention in Davao City.

Mabuhay tayong Lahat!

NILO M. ALCOREZA, MD, FPOGS, FPSUOG, FPCHA PMA Governor - Southern Tagalog Region Chairman - Organizing Committee 28th Dr. Jose P. Rizal Memorial Awards

Noted By:

BENJAMIN M, ALABAN, MD

Secretary General

JOSE P. SANTIAGO JR, MD

President

## DR. JOSE P. RIZAL MEMORIAL AWARDS

"In Search of the Filipino Physicians of Distinction"

The Dr. Jose P. Rizal Memorial Award is given to outstanding Filipino Physicians whose life and work embody the ideals of our national hero in the conduct of their practice, in the way they live life that is reflective of Rizal's love for God and country, and in the selfless service to fellowmen, especially the poor and the underprivileged.

This partnership program of the Philippine Medical Association and United Laboratories, Inc. initiated by Southern Tagalog Association of Medical Practitioners, hope to inspire both physicians and non-physicians to perpetuate the memory and legacy of Dr. Jose P. Rizal: writer, philanthropist, sportsman, and physician.

The award began in 1987, when a group of PMA component presidents from the Southern Tagalog Region conceived of giving an award to an outstanding Filipino physician of the year. The STAMP Regional Council, headed by Dr. Galicano Espiritu (Cavite), and its Project Director, Dr. Aquilino Carino II (Laguna), decided to give the first award ever.

Later in 1991, to make the award national in scope, STAMP sought the support of the Philippine Medical Association, through its President, Dr. Homobono B. Calleja, and United Laboratories, Inc. through Dr. Delfin B. Samson Jr., and Mr. Jerry Esquivel.

## **IMPORTANT INFORMATION**

- 1. Program Mechanics and Nomination forms are available in any of the following offices
  - PMA Secretariat
  - Component Medical Society Secretariat
  - Specialty Division, Specialty and Affiliate Secretariat
  - Professional Relations Management Division, UNILAB
- 2. Previous nominees who did not win can be nominated again
- 3. Winner of one category can be nominated to another category
- 4. Deadline for submission of nominations shall be on December 30, 2018, and addressed to the PMA Secretariat, North Avenue, Quezon City
- 5. Please submit 3 copies of your nomination form together with your supporting documents
- 6. Screening of nomination forms and materials will be on January 2019 at the PMA Board Room.
- 7. Final judging will be done by a distinguished 15 member panel of judges composed of health, religious, academe and civic leaders from the government and private sectors.
- 8. Awarding ceremony will be held during the 112th PMA Annual Convention on May 2019.
- 9. For more information, please contact any of the following:
  - PMA Secretariat (02) 929-6366
  - Nilo M. Alcoreza, MD 0917-7949512
  - Professional Relations Management Division, United Laboratories, Inc.

## PMA NATIONAL OFFICERS

JOSE P. SANTIAGO JR., MD BENITO P. ATIENZA, MD CHRISTINE S. TINIO, MD BENJAMIN M. ALABAN, MD President Vice President National Treasurer Secretary General

SOUTHERN TAGALOG ASSOCIATION OF MEDICAL PRACTITIONERS (STAMP) OFFICERS and ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

NILO M. ALCOREZA, MD

Governor, Southern Tagalog

MA. RHODA C. GOCO, MD
President, STAMP

SHEERA RECTO-BROWN, MD

President, Batangas Medical Society

FRANCISCA M. PAGLINAWAN, MD

President, Bauan Medical Society

CAROLYN V. ENRIQUEZ, MD

President, Cavite Medical Society

MACABEO S. VILLAMOR JR., MD

President, Laguna Medical Society

MARGARET GLADYS A. VERGARA, MD

President, Lipa City Medical Society

CATHERINE DELL J. SADIWA, MD

President, Marinduque Medical Society

ANNA MONICA R. BRACAMONTE, MD

President, Mindoro Occidental Medical Society

WILMA A. ELPEDES, MD

President, Oriental Mindoro Medical Society

REYNALDO FREDERICK QUICHO, MD

President, Palawan Medical Society

MA. LOURDES REYES-GONZALES, MD

President, Quezon Medical Society

RENATO R. MENRIGE JR., MD

President, Romblon Medical Society

LEANDRO L. MASANGA JR., MD

President, San Pablo City Medical Society

EDWIN C. MANUEL, MD

President, Taal-Lemery Medical Society

EDGAR T. SUMANG, MD

President, Tanauan Medical Society

MANUEL M. SANTOS, MD

President, Western Batangas Medical Society





















